CM Announces The Most Awaited Metro Rail Project In Odisha

The project connects major cities including Cuttack, Bhubaneshwar and Puri.

Representational image

BHUBANESHWAR (Metro Rail News): On 1 April 2023, the chief minister of Odisha, Naveen Patnaik, announced the metro train project on the occasion of Utkal Diwas (the foundation day of Odisha) in the state capital. The rail project connects the biggest cities of the state, including Cuttack, Bhubaneshwar, Puri and Khurda.

The whole initiative for the transformation of the metro project will be done on the 5T principle ( teamwork, technology, transparency, transformation and time limit) followed by the state government. Naveen Patnaik’s vision of a new Odisha and to provide the best class of metro service has been executed and studied by the various stakeholders, and feasibility reports have been prepared and checked by the Odisha chief secretary P K Jena along with the development commissioner Anu Garg, secretary to the Chief Minister, VK Pandian, Usha Padhee, the principal secretary of commerce& transport, housing and urban development and IT secretaries which are entirely funded by the state government.

As per the information, CM Patnaik mentioned that the initiative is done based on the elevated corridor that will help to ease the state’s traffic. It is further informed that the metro will cover approximately 100 Kilometers. During its first phase, the metro service will cover around 20 km of the area from Biju Patnaik International Airport in Bhubaneswar to Trishulia near Cuttack along with major landmarks including Bhubaneswar railway station, Vani Vihar, Jaydev Vihar, Patia, and Nandankanan. Later, the metro phase will connect puri to Cuttack and Bhubaneshwar for the pilgrims to the temple areas.

For its cost-effectiveness, a Detailed Project Report (DPR) has been requested by the CM Patnaik to Housing and Urban Development, including the land acquisition cost.

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.