Light Rail

Light Rail

Delhi Light Rail Transit is a proposed light rail for national capital of IndiaNew Delhi and Delhi region. Government of National Capital Territory of Delhi has proposed 3 corridors for this project. The total length is 45 km and feasibility study is completed. The following three lines are included in phase 1:

Phase 1

  1. Mehrauli– IG Stadium/Sachivalaya (Central Secretariat). (16 km)
  2. Mehrauli –Badarpur. (11.5 km)
  3. Mehrauli –Dwarka Sector 22. (17.5 km)

Other Light Rail projects planned in India are as under:-

System City Opening Year System length (km) No. of lines
Delhi Light Rail Transit Delhi 45 3
Kolkata LRTS Kolkata 2
Kozhikode Light Metro Kozhikode 2016 14.5 km 1
Pune LRTS Pune 2
Thiruvananthapuram Light Metro Thiruvananthapuram 2016 41.8 km 1