Mono Rail

MonorailThe first monorail in India was the Kundala Valley Railway in Kundala Valley, near MunnarKerala. It was a privately owned monorail system, that operated from 1902 to 1908. That year the system was converted to a narrow gauge railway, which operated till 1924, when it was destroyed completely by floods. The Patiala State Monorail Trainways which opened in February 1907 and closed in 1927 was the second monorail system in India.

The Mumbai Monorail, which opened on 2 February 2014 is the first operational monorail in India, since the closing of the Patiala State Monorail Trainways in 1927. Many other Indian cities have monorail projects, as a feeder system to the metro, in different phases of planning.

CitySystemOperations beganSystem length (km)LinesStationsNotes
MunnarKundala Valley Railway1902–19085 km1
PatialaPatiala State Monorail Trainways1907–192780 km1
MumbaiMumbai Monorail02/Feb/20148.26 km17
ChennaiChennai Monorail201857 km337Centre approved Chennai monorail project to be implemented under DBFOT model
AllahabadAllahabad Monorail70.4 km2
BangaloreBangalore Monorail60 km
CoimbatoreCoimbatore Monorail2
DelhiDelhi Monorail90 km6
IndoreIndore Monorail
KanpurKanpur Monorail63 km3
KolkataKolkata Monorail72 km2
Navi MumbaiNavi Mumbai Monorail36.82 km2
PatnaPatna Monorail32 km4
PunePune Monorail52 km2
AhmedabadAhmedabad Monorail30 km4
AizawlAizawl Monorail5 km1