NCRTC Conducts Trial Runs of Namo Bharat Trains to Meerut South Station 

The trials were conducted on the 12.1 km stretch between Modinagar South and Meerut South section of the Delhi-Meerut RRTS Corridor.

NCRTC Conducts Trial Runs of Namo Bharat Trains to Meerut South Station
NCRTC Conducts Trial Runs of Namo Bharat Trains to Meerut South Station

NEW DELHI (Metro Rail News): NCRTC conducted the trial run of the Namo Bharat trains on the 12.1 km stretch between Modinagar South & Meerut South on the 82 km Delhi-Meerut RRTS Corridor. 


The trials between the Modinagar South and Meerut South were conducted on Friday. The NCRTC team conducted the trials manually with 40 Alstom trains at a low speed of 10 Kmph between Duhai and Meerut south, roughly 24.8 Km. 


The trials aimed at conducting tests of all subsystems and equipment. Further tests will be conducted to evaluate the integrated performance of the train and verify its coordination with various subsystems such as Signalling, Platform Screen Doors (PSDs), Overhead supply system, etc.

Earlier trials 

The trials on the preceding action between Duhai and Modinagar South were conducted three weeks back on the preceding section of the priority stretch spanning from Sahibabad to Duhai. 

The trials confirmed no physical obstruction, corroborating the train’s interaction with the civil structure as well as the Schedule of Dimensions (SoD) Clearances. 


The 25 km stretch, currently under trial, will be operationalised after the Priority Stretch, which entails stations such as Murad Nagar, Modi Nagar North, Modi Nagar South, and Meerut South.

Update on stations 

Returning to the Duhai – Meerut South segment, all four stations (Muradnagar, Modinagar South, Modinagar North, and Meerut South) along this 25-kilometer stretch are currently undergoing different construction phases. Activities such as station architectural finishing, PEB roof work, and station entry/exit work are underway at these stations.

Work Progress 

Shri Kaushal Kishor, The Minister of State (MoS) for the Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs (MoHUA), informed the Rajya Sabha in a written reply that the RRTS has achieved nearly 67% progress on Physical construction. 


The Rapid Rail Transit System (RRTS) is a comprehensive mass rapid transit network spanning 82.15 kilometres, linking Delhi’s Sarai Kale Khan with Ghaziabad and Meerut. The construction of the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut corridor is currently in progress, with a total expenditure of nearly Rs 30,000 crore. Prime Minister Modi inaugurated the initial phase of the priority corridor, covering 17 kilometres and featuring five stations: Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai, and Duhai Depot.

On October 20th, Prime Minister Narendra Modi officially launched India’s first RAPIDX train, Namo Bharat, off Sahibabad Station. These trains are engineered to reach a maximum speed of 180 km/h, offering ticket prices ranging from Rs 20 to Rs 50 for standard coaches and Rs 50 to Rs 100 for premium coaches.

The RRTS initiative encompasses semi-high-speed rail corridors connecting Delhi to Meerut in Uttar Pradesh, Alwar in Rajasthan, and Panipat in Haryana.

Discover the endless possibilities of our city’s Metro at InnoMetro, our flagship Expo and Conference. Be an active participant in shaping its future towards a more sustainable tomorrow. Stay informed and join us to take a step towards a brighter future

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.