PM Modi to inaugurate Ahmedabad Metro Rail Phase I today; Know route map, fare, other details

PM Modi will flag off the metro train and take a ride in the Metro from Vastral Gam station.

PM Modi to inaugurate Ahmedabad Metro Rail Phase I today; Know route map, fare, other details
PM Modi to inaugurate Ahmedabad Metro Rail Phase I today; Know route map, fare, other details

Ahmedabad, Metro Rail News: The Much awaited Phase one of Ahmedabad Metro Rail starts its commercial operations today. Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Shri Narendra Modi dedicated Ahmedabad Metro RaiL Project Phase-1 to the Nation by inaugurating Metro Rail Services between Vastral Gam Station to Apparel Park Station.

Hon’ble Prime Minister took a train ride between Vastral Gam Station to Nirant Cross Road Station along with differently abled school children from Umang Deaf and Dumb School of AMC, thereafter he laid the foundation stone for the Ahmedabad Metro Rail Project Phase – II having two Metro Rail Corridors (from Motera to Mahatma Mandir via Akshardham and from GNLU to Gift City) with combined length of 28.2 km, at an estimated project cost of Rs. 5384.17 Cr. The Phase – II is an extension of North South Corridor of Phase-I from APMC to Motera.

Hon’ble Prime Minister was accompanied by Hon’ Governor, Hon’ble Chief Minister, Dy. Chief Minister, Secretary of MoHUA, Government of India, Chief Secretary of Gujarat, Union Minister of MoHUA, Mayor of Ahmedabad and Ambassador of Japan.

Union Cabinet approves the second phase of Ahmedabad Metro Rail Project in February 2019. The Second phase will comprise of two corridors of total length 28.254 kms. It will give access to comfortable and reliable public transport to the travellers, especially in Ahmedabad and Gandhinagar region.

The Ahmedabad Metro Rail phase 1 project is around 40.03 km in total, out of which 6.5 km is underground and the rest of the stretch is elevated.

The regular services of Metro Rail will begin from 10 AM, 6th March 2019. Initially, the fare structure is proposed to be minimum Rs. 5 for first 2.5 KM and Rs. 10 from 2.5 to 7.5 Kms. As per this formula, the fare from Vastral Gam Station to Apparel Park Station will be Rs.10/-. It is also proposed to be Rs.25 fare from Vastral Gam to Thaltej Gam Stations when it will be operational.

Ahmedabad Metro Rail Fare

The 6.5 km-long stretch connects Vastral Gam to Apparel Park. As per reports, the minimum fare may start from Rs 15 for a ride of up to 2 km and the maximum fare may be around Rs 51 for a ride of up to 31 km.

Minimum Fare up to 2 Km Maximum Fare up to 31 Km
Rs 15Rs 51

Ahmedabad Metro Rail Route map

Ahmedabad Metro Rail Route map

Ahmedabad Metro Station List

North-South line: Motera stadium, Sabarmati, AEC, Sabarmati railway station, Ranip, Vadaj, Vijay Nagar, Usmanpura, Old High Court Interchange, Gandhigram, Paldi, Shreyas, Rajiv Nagar, Jivraj Park, APMC, Gyaspur (Depot)

East-West line: Thaltej Gam, Thaltej, Doordarshan Kendra, Gurukul Road, Gujarat University, Commerce Six Roads, Stadium, Old High Court Interchange, Shahpur, Gheekanta, Kalupur railway station, Karwan Bazar, Kankaria East, Apparel Park (depot), Amraiwadi, Rabari Colony, Vastral, Nirant Cross Roads, Vastral Gam

The Ahmedabad Metro Rail Projects will not only add to connectivity but will also reduce the travel time and enhance the ease of living substantially in the urban areas. 

Ahmedabad Metro Rail Card

PM Modi unveil the Common Mobility Card ‘One Nation One Card ‘ in Ahmedabad Metro

One Nation, One Crad
One Nation One Card

PM Narendra Modi Monday launched the indigenously-developed National Common Mobility Card (NCMC) to enable people to pay multiple kinds of transport charges, including metro services and toll tax, across the country. Dubbed as ‘One Nation One Card’, the inter-operable transport card would allow the holders to pay for their bus travel, toll taxes, parking charges, retail shopping and even withdraw money

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.