TBM Shivaji of The Agra Metro Lowered at RBS Ramp

TBM Shivaji will build a tunnel roughly 2.2 km long connecting RBS College Ramp to Agra College.

TBM Shivaji of Agra Metro Lowered at RBS Ramp
TBM Shivaji of Agra Metro Lowered at RBS Ramp P.C: harinder SIngh

AGRA (Metro Rail News): Marking a positive development Tunnel Boring Machine Shivaji (TBMS-718C) of the Agra Metro gets lowered into the RBS ramp. 

TBM Assignment 

The TBM has been assigned to build a roughly 2.2 km long tunnel from RBS College Ramp towards Agra College Interchange Station. It’s officially the 3rd TBM for the Agra Metro Phase 1 project’s 7.93 km Package AGCC-02. 

It will record two breakthroughs en route:

  1. RBS College Station 
  2. Raja Ki Mandi Station
Agar TBM Shivaji 01
P.C: harinder SIngh

Package AGCC-02

This 7.93 km civil package from chainage 3630.000 to 11564.485 consists of twin tunnels connecting 7 stations at Taj Mahal, Agra Fort, Jama Masjid, SN Medical College, Agra College, Raja ki Mandi and RBS College. 


Afcons Infrastructure – Sam India JV was awarded the contract at an estimated cost of Rs 1819.79 Crore. It was awarded in  March 2022 with a 48-month deadline. 

Earlier Assignments 

The same TBM was deployed to construct two tunnels, each 228 meters long, connecting Taj Mahal Station and Taj Mahal Ramp on Fatehabad Road. The tunnel breakthroughs were achieved in October and December 2023.

Agar TBM Shivaji 03
P.C: harinder SIngh

Update on Agra metro 

The tunnelling work on the Priority Section of the Agra Metro was completed in December 2023 with shifting all attention to the remaining tunnel work on the RBS Ramp – Jama Masjid Stretch. 

Some Snapshots for You! 

Taj Mahal Metro Stataion Agra Metro 01

Agra Metro

Taj Mahal Metro Stataion Agra Metro 02

Agra Metro is a Rapid Transit Metro Project in Agra consisting of 2 metro lines totalling 29.65 Kilometers. The Agra Metro has two corridors: 

Corridor 01

The length of the Sikandra to Taj East Gate corridor is 14.00 km, which is partly elevated and partly underground and comprises 13 stations (6 elevated and seven underground).

Corridor 02

The length of the Agra Cantt to Kalindi Vihar corridor is 15.40 km, comprising 14 elevated stations.

Commercial operations on the Priority Corridor running from the Taj Mahal Esttae to the Taj Mahal Ramp are scheduled to begin in February 2024 ahead of the initial August 2024 deadline.

Discover the endless possibilities of our city’s Metro at InnoMetro, our flagship Expo and Conference. Be an active participant in shaping its future towards a more sustainable tomorrow. Stay informed and join us to take a step towards a brighter future


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.