Telangana CM to Lay the Foundation Stone for the MGBS to Falaknuma stretch of Hyderabad Metro on March 8 

The projected expense is anticipated to reach a staggering Rs 2,000 crore, covering road widening and utility relocation expenses.

Hyderabad Metro
Hyderabad Metro
InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

HYDERABAD (Metro Rail News): Telangana Chief Minister A Revanth Reddy will be laying the foundation stone of the 5.5-kilometre stretch from MGBS to Falaknuma of the corridor II Green Line JBS to Falaknuma on March 8th. 

New Alignment 

The new alignment will pass through Darulshifa – Purani Haveli – Etebar Chowk – Alijakotla – Mir Momin Daira – Haribowli -Shalibanda – Shamsheergunj – Aliabad and ends at Falaknuma Metro Rail station.

Old Alignment 

The CM remarked that the earlier metro alignment ran along the G0111 area, where the scope of development remains limited, and there is already an excellent transport facility in the form of ORR. 

Stations on the Corridor 

There would be four stations: Salarjung Museum, Charminar, Shalibanda, and Falaknuma. Despite a 500-meter distance between the stations and monuments, two stations have been named after the Salarjung Museum and Charminar, considering their historical importance.

Further Extension

The line will be further extended by another 1.5 km from Falaknuma to Chandrayangutta, which will be developed as a major interchange station on the newly planned airport line of Nagole-LB Nagar-Chandrayangutta-Mailardevpally-P7 Road-Shamshabad Airport, he added.

Connectivity Advantage 

The primary aim of the recently formulated metro rail routes is to offer affordable public transportation to a more significant segment of the population. The government is committed to realising its objective of making metro rail services accessible to economically disadvantaged and middle-income groups. According to official statements, this will be achieved through an extensive expansion of metro rail connectivity to encompass all areas within the city.

Hyderabad Metro 

The Hyderabad Metro, India’s third-longest operational metro network, is a significant rapid transit system that greatly enhances the city’s transportation infrastructure. On November 28, 2017, Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the 30-kilometer-long stretch from Miyapur to Nagole, featuring 24 stations. This inauguration marked the opening of India’s longest rapid transit metro line at once, with an estimated cost of ₹18,800 crore.

As of February 2020, approximately 490,000 commuters rely on the metro daily. Phase I of the project consists of three lines:

1. Red Line (Line 1) – LB Nagar to Miyapur, spanning 29 km with 27 stations.

2. Green Line (Line 2) – JBS to Falaknuma, covering 15 km and featuring 15 stations.

3. Blue Line (Line 3) – Nagole to Raidurg, extending over 28 km and incorporating 24 stations.

Intrigued by the future of Metro and its impact on our city? Join us at our upcoming InnoMetro event to delve deeper into this vital issue. Stay informed, get involved, and let’s ride the Metro towards a brighter, more sustainable future together.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.