Trains of Chennai Metro Phase-1 & Phase-2 will operate independently

Chennai Metro
Image Source: CMRL

CHENNAI: At present, Chennai Metro Phase-1 is fully operational with route length of 45.1 Km and when Phase-2 will began operations, trains running on Phase-1 will not run on Phase-2 and vice versa.

This is because of usage of different signalling systems for Phase-1 and Phase-2, as a result both the Phase-1 and Phase-2 projects will function independently and trains running in one phase cannot be run on the other. While Phase-1 has four-coach trains, Phase-2 will have three-coach and six-coach trains, according to CMRL (Chennai Metro Rail Limited).

According to CMRL official, “Because the projects have different signalling systems, the trains operating in Phase-1 cannot work in Phase-2. It will have no impact on the passengers. Some stations like Alandur, St. Thomas Mount, Vadapalani, Thousand Lights and CMBT, which will be present in both projects, will not be in the same building and will be located very close to each other. So, if a commuter wants to switch between Phase-1 and Phase-2, they have switch stations. We will make sure the switching is seamless.”

In the Phase-1 project, distance-to-go signalling system was used whereas in Phase-2, the communications based train control signalling system would be used, officials said. The latter is considered to be more precise and Metros in Delhi, Bengaluru and Mumbai were now opting to deploy the system, they added.

Phase-2 of Chennai Metro comprises construction of three lines covering a total of 118.9 km, these lines are –

Line-3 from Madhavaram to Siruseri (45.81 km with 48 stations)

Line-4 from Light House to Poonamallee (26.1 km, 28 stations)

Line-5 fromMadhavaram to Sholinganallur (47 km, 46 stations)

Construction activities for Phase-2 are expected to start in next few months with whole phase is expected to be completed by 2026.

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.