Cabinet approves three corridors of Delhi Metro Phase IV

According to the government, corridors of Mukundpur-Maujpur, RK Ashram-Janakpuri West and Aero City-Tughlakabad have been approved by the Cabinet.

Delhi Metro Red line extension advertising rights.
Delhi Metro Red line extension advertising rights.

New Delhi, Metro Rail News: The Union Cabinet on Thursday gave “in-principle” approval to three out of six corridors of Delhi Metro Phase IV. Which will further improve connectivity in the Delhi – NCR.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley shared this information at the media briefing after cabinet meeting.

According to the government, The Tughlakabad-Aerocity (20.20 km), Janakpuri West-RK Ashram (28.92 km) and Mukundpur-Maujpur (12.54 km) sections. This will add to the existing 350 km-long Delhi Metro network have been approved by the Cabinet in the meeting chaired by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Three Corridors with Stations

  • Aerocity to Tughlakabad Corridor will have a total of 15 Stations: Starting from Aerocity, Mahipalpur, Vasantkunj Sector-D, Masoodpur, Kishangarh, Mehrauli, Lado Sarai, Saket, Saket G Block, Ambedkar Nagar, Khanpur, Tigri, Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tughlakabad Railway Colony, Tughlakabad.
  • R. K Ashram to Janakpuri West Corridor will have 25 Stations: Starting from R.K. Ashram, Motiakhan, Sadar Bazar, Pulbangash, GhantaGhar/SabziMandi, Rajpura, Derawal Nagar, Ashok Vihar, Azadpur, Mukundpur, Bhalaswa, MukarbaChowk, BadliMor, North Pitampura, Prashant Vihar, Madhuban Chowk, Deepali Chowk, Pushpanjali Enclave, West Enclave, Mangolpuri, Peeragarhi Chowk, Paschim Vihar, Meerabagh, Keshopur, Krishan Park Ext., Janakpuri West
  • Maujpur – Mukundpur will have just 6 Stations: Starting from Yamuna Vihar, Bhajanpura, KhajuriKhas, Soorghat, Jagatpur Village, Burari)

These Corridors will expand the Delhi Metro connectivity and will reach to more areas of the national capital. The total network length of the Delhi Metro will cross the 400-kilometre mark after the completion of these corridors.

Union Housing and Urban Affairs Minister Hardeep Singh Puri said ” Tughlakabad-Aerocity corridor will improve connectivity to the national capital’s airport”

The other three lines which are yet to receive the Union Cabinet’s approval are Rithala-Bawana, Inderlok-Indraprastha, and Lajpat Nagar-Saket G Block.

The total outlay for the project will be Rs. 24,948.65 crore in an equal sharing pattern with the Delhi government.

In December, the Delhi government gave in-principle approval to all the six corridors of Phase-IV and allocated Rs. 500 crore.

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.