Delhi Metro | CMRS issues safety clearance to open Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section of Line 7

Delhi Metro Pink Line Train
Delhi Metro Pink Line Train

New Delhi: The Commissioner for Metro Railway Safety (CMRS) has issued safety clearance to Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) for opening Shiv Vihar-Trilokpuri section of Pink Line. The safety inspection of this stretch was carried out on 20th October.

The Commissioner for Metro Rail Safety Shailesh Kumar Pathak has issued safety clearance with some observations and conditions which the DMRC has to fulfilled before announcing the date for the opening of this section.

After the opening of this 17.86 km, elevated section total of 15 stations will be operational. Names of the stations are  – Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake, East Vinod Nagar-Mayur Vihar II, Mandawali- West Vinod Nagar, I.P. Extension, Anand Vihar ISBT, Karkardooma, Karkardooma Court, Krishna Nagar, East Azad Nagar, Welcome, Jaffrabad, Maujpur- Babarpur, Gokulpuri, Johri Enclave, and Shiv Vihar.

This section has three interchange stations – Anand Vihar (Blue Line), Karkardooma (Blue Line) and Welcome (Red Line). After the opening of this 17.86 long section, the Delhi Metro network will become 314 (313.86) kilometers long.

This section is part of the 59-km long Majlis Park-Shiv Vihar corridor, also known as the Pink Line. This stretch, which will be a continuation of the presently operational Majlis Park – Lajpat Nagar section, will be a boon for commuters from Ashram, Mayur Vihar.

The remaining part between Trilokpuri Sanjay Lake and Lajpat Nagar will become in operational later as there some legal battles between the Delhi Metro Rail Corporation and the residents of Trilokpuri area. The Hazrat Nizamuddin Metro station will service the Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway station as well as the Inter-State Bus Terminal at Sarai Kale Khan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.