Delhi Metro | Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus-Lajpat Nagar on Pink line open for public

Inauguration of Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus-Lajpat Nagar section
Inauguration of Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus-Lajpat Nagar section

New Delhi:  On 6 August Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) inaugurated the Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus to Lajpat Nagar section on the Pink Line. The Executive Director of Corporate Communications, DMRC, Anuj Daya said that 8.10-km long route will be flagged off by  The Minister of State (Independent Charge), Housing and Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal.

The service on Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus -Lajpat Nagar section of Delhi Metro’s Pink line was today flagged off by Union Minister Hardeep Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwa. Delhi Metro’s new service will link four major shopping destinations of the city. This section from Lajpat Nagar to Sir Vishweshwaraiah Moti Bagh will have the six stations viz. Vishweshwaraih Moti Bagh, Bhikaji Cama Place, Sarojini Nagar, INA, South Extension and Lajpat Nagar. It also has two interchange stations at INA and Lajpat Nagar.

Pink Line Map
Delhi Metro Route Map (Photo: DMRC)

About Pink line corridor:

  • The services for commuters for pink line will began from 1 Pm.
  • This stretch will provide great facility for commuters who usually like to go for shopping i.e, Sarojini Nagar, INA, South Extension and Lajpat Nagar.
  • This streatch consist both elevated as well as underground station, Sir Vishwesaraiya Moti Bagh is elevated whereas Bhikaji Kama Place, INA, Sarojini Nagar, South Extension and Lajpat Nagar are underground stations.
  • There will be total 23 number of trains will run on Delhi metro pink line’s new corridor.

All the six stations of new corridor of Delhi Pink line metro are approved from Green building Council of India. After the extension of this line, the total network of Metro the city has expanded to 296 Km through 214 stations.

The Pink Line’s section flagged off via remote from Metro Bhawan at 11.30 am. This was open for passengers from 1 pm onwards from 6 July onward. The stretch consists total six number of stations which includes two interchange stations one at  Lajpat Nagar and another at INA.

Dayal also mention that this new section would also shrink travel time for commuters by up to 20 minutes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.