Delhi Metro | CMRS completes safety inspection of remaining section of Magenta Line-8

CMRS Safety Inception of Magenta Line
CMRS S. K. Pathak conducted safety inspection of remaining section of Magenta Line -8 of DMRC

New Delhi: The Commissioner for Metro Railways Safety (CMRS) today completed safety inspection of remaining 25.6 km stretch of Magenta Line between Kalka Ji Mandir and Janakpuri (West). CMRS Sh. S.K. Pathak accompanied by Sh. Rajmal Khoiwal (Dy.CRS/S&T/NDLS), Sh. Shalabh Tyagi (Dy.CRS/ET/LKO), Sh. Rajeev Kumar (Dy.CRS/G/LKO), Sh. Uttam Prakash (Dy.CRS/Mech/LKO) and Smt. Indu Dubey (Dy.CRS/Optg./LKO). The entire inspection was completed in three days from 8th May to 10th May 2018. Here some photographs-


The Commissioner of Metro Rail Safety (CMRS) gave it green clearance on Thursday after the inspection of the 25.6 km new metro section between Kalakaji Mandir from Janakpuri West. There are 16 new Metro stations in this section, two stations, Hauz Khas and Janakpuri West will provide interchange facility to the passengers. With the opening of this section, many areas of Vasant Vihar, Munirka, IIT, Greater Kailash, Chirag Delhi and South Delhi will be on the map of Delhi Metro. Also, the distance between the capital’s Noida and West Delhi will decrease. Apart from this, Terminal-I of Indira Gandhi International Airport will also get the Metro link for the first time. From December 25, last year the Metro train service has already started between the Kalkaji temple and Botanical Garden on 12.64 km route.

For the people living in West Delhi, where so far the Blue Line was the way, in which they had to reach Rajiv Chowk to reach other areas of Delhi-NCR and had to change the train. Now it will be easy for them because this corridor will pass through the congested areas like Palam, Dabri, Mahavir Enclave, Sagarpur and Dasharathpur.

Delhi Metro: Magenta Line Route Map
Expansion of Delhi Metro Rail Network after fully opening of Magenta Line (Line-8)

There is no Metro connectivity for the Domestic Terminals of IGI Airport, though the express line reaches Terminal 3. Passengers can easily access domestic terminals after the corridor starts completely. Now it is possible to reach the domestic terminal through different areas of Delhi and through Gurgaon metro. Where those who reach the Domestic Terminal from South Delhi will take 20 minutes, the other areas of NCR can take up to 35 to 50 minutes. Due to the convenience of many interchange facilities, Gurgaon can be reached from Noida in just 50 minutes.

There are total 30 metro stations on Magenta Line (Line-8) including four interchange stations. Names of stations on Magenta Line are; Janakpuri West (interconnects with Blue Line), Janakpuri C-2B, Dabri Mor, Dashrath Puri, Palam, Sadar Bazar, IGI Domestic Airport, IGI International Airport, NH-8, Shankar Vihar, Vasant Vihar, Munirka, R.K Puram, IIT, Hauz Khas (interconnects with Yellow Line), Panchsheel Park, Chirag Delhi, G.K Enclave, Nehru Place, Kalkaji (interconnects with Violet Line), Mathura Road/NH-2, Okhla Phase 3, Ishwar Nagar, Jamia Nagar, Okhla Vihar, Jasola Vihar, Kalindi Kunj, Yamuna River, Amity NOIDA and, Botanical Garden.

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


  1. When is jankapuri botanical garden line likely to be opened for public as now safety clearance has also come
    First it was march end , then April end , then May 15 ..The date keeps on pushing


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.