Delhi Metro | DMRC inaugurates first section of Line 7 (Pink Line) for public

Delhi Metro Passed Through Highest Point at Dhaula Kuan

New Delhi: The Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) launched 21.56 km stretch of Pink Line between Majlis Park-Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus on Wednesday. Union Minister of Housing & Urban Affairs Hardeep Singh Puri, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal along with Delhi Government Chief Secretary flagged off this section at 4 pm today from Metro Bhawan. Passenger services will begin from 6 pm.

While addressing the Media in Metro Bhawan Arvind Kejriwal said, “We want Delhi Metro to expand. Delhi government will clear Phase IV shortly. We are committed for expanding of Delhi Metro and no one should have the slightest doubt about that. Some routes of Delhi Metro’s Phase IV not financially viable. The project can be divided in two parts and the viable routes can be approved immediately.”

“Delhi Metro’s fare is a bit high. I request we should all work together to bring a solution,” he added.

Inauguration of section of Line 7 (Pink Line) of the Delhi Metro by MoS H&UA Hardeep Singh Puri and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal in the august presence of Dr. Harsh Vardhan, Meenakshi Lekhi, Parvesh Sahib Singh and H.E. Mr. Kenji Hiramatsu, Ambassador of Japan to India.

After opening of this section DMRC has completed nearly 250 km routes. This section has total 12 stations namely Majlis Park, Azadpur, Shalimar Bagh, Netaji Subhash Place, Shakurpur, Punjabi Bagh West, ESI Hospital, Rajouri Garden, Mayapuri, Naraina Vihar, Delhi Cantt and Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus. Out of the 12 stations, eight are elevated and the rest underground.

Here are some highlights of Delhi Metro’s Pink Line: 

  • The Pink Line is a 59-km line connecting Majlis Park to Shiv Vihar under Delhi Metro’s Phase III project.
  • This is the longest metro line till date and is expected to be fully operational by June 2018.
  • Interchange stations at Azadpur, Netaji Subhash Place and Rajouri Garden will connect the Yellow, Red, and Blue lines, respectively, to the Pink Line. The line will also bring Delhi University’s South Campus under the Metro system.
  • The new corridor will also, for the first time, connect the north and south campuses of the Delhi University, on the metro network, which can be covered in 40 minutes.
  • The average speed of the train on the line is 34 kmph and the line will have only six-coach trains, with a frequency of 90-100 seconds.
  • Total 19 trains will be in service on the line. Trains will also run on two shorter routes — between Durgabai Deshmukh South Campus and Shakurpur, and Majlis Park and Shakurpur stations.
  • The trains will be driverless, with multi-coloured seats (orange, blue, pink and red), darker shades for reserved seats, a special demarcated area for persons on wheelchairs, USB and three-pin recharge ports and three-handle poles for those who commute standing.
  • This section (first stretch) will also reduce metro travel time between Dwarka 21 (Blue Line) and Rithala (Red Line) by over 16 minutes; and Rajouri Garden and Azadpur by nearly 23 minutes.
Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.