Budgetary Provision of Rs 5,976 and Rs 2,092 crore for Nagpur Metro Rail Phase-II and Nashik Metro Neo Projects

Maha Metro
Maha Metro
InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

NAGPUR (Metro Rail News): In a significant development the Union Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman made budgetary provision of Rs 5,976 crore & Rs 2,092 crore for Nagpur Metro Phase-II and Nasik Metro Neo Projects respectively. The announcement for the same was made in the budgetary speech delivered by the finance minister today.

The budgetary provision is a testimony of the quality and speed with which Maha Metro has executed the Nagpur Metro Rail Phase Project. The Phase II covers the rural parts of Nagpur district and will serve as an extension to the ongoing first phase. The proposed Phase-II will be spread over 43.8 km length with 32 stations.

The corridors identified for Phase II of Nagpur Metro include:
i. Automotive Square to Kanhan : 13 Km length and 12 Stations. The corridor will cater to the areas of Khasara, Lekha Nagar, Kamptee, and Dragon Palace.

ii. MIHAN to Butibori MIDC ESR : 18.7 Km length and 10 Stations. The corridor will have the catchment area of Jamtha, Dongargaon, Mohgaon, Butibori, MHADA colony, Indorama Colony.

iii. Prajapati Nagar to Transport Nagar:  5.5 Km length and 3 Stations. The corridor will cater the vicinity of Ambe Nagar, Kapsi, Transport Nagar & Asoli.

iv. Lokmanya Nagar to Hingna : 6.6 Km length and 7 Stations. The corridor will pass through Nildoh, Gajanan Nagar, Rajiv Nagar, Lakshmi Nagar, Raipur, and Hingna Village including surrounding MIDC areas.

The entire Phase II network is elevated. The first phase of Maha Metro Nagpur is progressing well and as per scheduled timelines. Phase I has four corridors of 38 Km length with a total of 38 stations.
Phase II Project will enable easy, faster and comfortable journey form one part of Nagpur to other. This will particularly help those employed in industrial areas of Nagpur and have to commute long-distance daily.

Nashik Metro Neo Project:

The concept of Metro-Neo was formulated after a very extensive and comprehensive technical consultations, interactions and due diligence with several stakeholders/technical experts. The system is eco-friendly, energy efficient, reliable, safe and capable of providing an efficient mass public transport system which is ideally suitable for the traffic need of cities having population similar to Nashik in India as well as similar cities abroad.
Government of India has been contemplating since long to find an optimal transport solution for cities having population of 2-3 million since appropriate MRTS has not been explored anywhere in India. The model developed for Nashik was discussed on various forums and finally Govt. of India on 21.08.2019 constituted a committee under the chairmanship of Dr. Brijesh Dixit, MD/Maha-Metro for standardization of detail specifications for a Rubber-Tyred Mass Rapid Transportation System with a view to implement this across India.
The salient features of Metro-Neo is outlined below: 

Two corridors are planned initially 

• Corridor one : Gangapur to Mumbai Naka: Length: 10 KM, Stations : 10 (Gangapur, Jalapur, Ganpat Nagar, Kale Nagar, Jehan Circle, Thatte Nagar, Shivaji Nagar, Panchavati, CBS, Mumbai Naka).

• Corridor two -Gangapur to Nashik Road :length : 22 KM, Station : 15 (DHRUV Nagar, Shramik Nagar, Mahindra, Shaneshwar Nagar, Satpur Colony, MIDC, ABB Circle, Parijat Nagar, MICO circle, CBS, Sharda Circle, Dwarka Circle, Gayatri Nagar, Samta Nagar, Gandhi Nagar, Nehru Nagar, Datta Mandir, Nashik Road). CBS will be an interchange station where both the corridors meet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.