MoU Signing for the Delhi Metro’s Phase 4 Greenlighted by Delhi Government

Delhi Government & Centre Collaborate: MoU to Ease DMRC Land Transfers Enhanced Partnership to Expedite Construction & Meet DMRC Targets

Delhi Metro/ Representational image only.
Delhi Metro/ Representational image only.
InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

NEW DELHI (Metro Rail News): Although a routine procedure but a major milestone in the easy conduct of the projects held by Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) was accomplished yesterday with the Delhi government greenlighting the signing of MoU with the centre. 

The CMO 

The CMO said, “CM Arvind Kejriwal has approved the signing of the MoU between the Delhi Government, DMRC and Central Government. This (corridors) includes Janakpuri West to Ramakrishna Ashram, Delhi Aerocity to Tughlakabad station and Majlis Park to Maujpur corridor. After this, construction of these corridors will accelerate.”


The Delhi government is signing the MoU with the centre to deal with all the obstacles related to the transfer of either private or government land to the DMRC, which would, in turn, expedite the construction work and allow DMRC to achieve its targets in time.

A High Power Committee (HPC) 

Under the MoU, a High Power Committee (HPC) will be established to expedite the land transfer processes. It will be presided over by the Chief Secretary, with the secretaries being a part of the body. It will allow for speedy action and efficient outcomes without any lagging. 

The 3 Approved Corridors 

The three approved corridors under the Delhi Metro’s Phase 4 are: 

  1. Maujpur to Majlis Park
  2. Janakpuri West to RK Ashram
  3. Tughlakabad to Aerocity

The 3 Corridors Pending 

The three corridors of the Delhi metro pending approval with the central government are: 

  1. Rithala-Bawana-Narela
  2. Inderlok-Indraprastha
  3. Lajpat Nagar-Saket G-Block

Delhi Metro Phase 4 

Phase IV of the Delhi Metro is a network expansion to new housing areas in the National Capital Region. On March 7, 2019, the union cabinet approved three ‘priority corridors’ out of six corridors of Metro’s Phase 4: 

Total length of approved ‘Priority Corridors‘: 61.679 km 

Estimated project cost: Rs 24,948.65 crore

Total length of six corridors: 103.93 km

Total Estimated Project Cost: Rs 45,000 crore

Expected Ridership: 1.5 million passengers per day

Phase – IV

Approved New Lines

Line 10 (Golden Line): Aerocity – Tughlakabad

Length: 23.622 km

Type: Elevated (4.279 km) & Underground (19.343 km)

Depot: Sarita Vihar (shared with Violet Line) & possibly Vasant Kunj

Number of Stations: Sixteen

Stations: Aerocity, Mahipalpur, Vasant Kunj, Kishangarh, Chhatarpur, Chhattarpur Mandir, IGNOU, Neb Sarai, Saket G-Block, Ambedkar Nagar, Khanpur, Sangam Vihar, Maa Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tughlakabad Railway Colony (Pul Prahaladpur) and Tughlakabad

Approved Extensions

Line 7 (Pink Line): Mukundpur – Maujpur

Length: 12.558 km

Type: Elevated (12.58 km)

Number of Stations: Eight

Stations: Burari Crossing, Jagatpur Village, Surghat, Khajuri Khas, Bhajanpura, Yamuna Vihar and Maujpur

Line 8 (Magenta Line): Janakpuri West – R.K. Ashram (28.92 km)

Length: 28.92 km

Type: Elevated (21.18 km) & Underground (7.74 km)

Number of Stations: 22

Station Names: Krishna Park Extn, Keshopur, Paschim Vihar, Peeragarhi, Mangol Puri, West Enclave, Pushpanjali, Deepali Chowk, Madhuban Chowk, Prashant Vihar, North Pitampura, Haiderpur Badli Mor, Bhalaswa, Majlis Park, Azadpur & Ashok Vihar, Derawal Nagar, Rajpura, GG Sabji Mandi, Pulbangash, Sadar Bazar, Nabi Karim and RK Ashram Marg

Discover the endless possibilities of our city’s Metro at InnoMetro, our flagship Expo and Conference. Be an active participant in shaping its future towards a more sustainable tomorrow. Stay informed and join us to take a step towards a brighter future. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.