RVNL Starts Work on Underground Tunnel for Kolkata’s New Garia line

Tunnelling Expected to be Completed by End of 2022, Airport Metro Terminal Connection Set for 2024 Completion

Kolkata Metro
Representational Image
InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

KOLKATA (Metro Rail News): Rail Vikas Nigam Ltd (RVNL), the implementing agency for the New Garia-Airport Metro corridor in Kolkata, has begun work on constructing an underground tunnel to connect the airport Metro terminal to the line. The tunnelling is expected to be completed by the end of this year, while the 3.5km section from City Centre II to the airport is set to be completed by the end of 2024.

Although the Metro project connecting New Garia with Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose International Airport still has several gaps, a 5.4km section is set to be launched commercially this month. The construction of the diaphragms on both sides of the 800m underground section through Airports Authority of India (AAI) land is also being carried out by Afcons Infrastructure.

An official has announced that the New Garia-Airport Metro stretch will include a total of 24 elevated stations, with Phase 1 covering five stations, including the terminal Kavi Subhas station and the Hemanta Mukherjee station at Ruby crossing. RVNL is currently fast-tracking the remaining stations. The airport station will act as the northern terminal of the Metro corridor and will also serve as a stop for the 6.8km Noapara to airport line, which is set to be extended to New Barrackpore.

Afcons’ scope of work includes the 800m tunnel, for which trenching work began near the end of February. The 3.5km mostly elevated segment with two new stations at Chinar Park and VIP Road (Haldiram’s) will connect City Centre II and airport Metro stations. In January 2021, Afcons was awarded the Rs 532 crore civil construction contract with a 36-month deadline.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.