Delhi-Gurugram-SNB RRTS Corridor has been approved by NCRTC Board

Another Corridor of Regional Rail makes headway – NCRTC Board approves DPR of Delhi – Gurugram – SNB RRTS Corridor

Delhi–SNB RRTS corridor
Delhi–SNB RRTS corridor

New Delhi, Metro Rail News: NCRTC Board, chaired by Secretary, Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs(MHoU), in its meeting held on 6th December 2018, has approved the DPR (Detailed Project Report) of Delhi-Gurugram-SNB (Shahjahanpur-Neemrana-Behror Urban Complex) RRTS corridor.

Delhi-Alwar-RRTS- with station list
Delhi Alwar RRTS with station list

One of the three RRTS corridors prioritized for implementation, Delhi-Gurugram-Alwar is planned to be implemented in three stages. In stage I, Delhi – Gurugram – Rewari – SNB Urban Complex will be constructed. In Stage II, it will be extended from SNB Urban Complex to Sotanala and in Stage III, SNB Urban Complex to Alwar will be constructed.

The 106 km long, Delhi-Gurugram-SNB corridor will be elevated for about 71 km (11 stations), the remaining 35 km (5 stations) will be constructed underground, mostly in Delhi & Gurugram. This corridor will converge with other RRTS corridors in Sarai Kale Khan and will be interoperable, facilitating commuters’ movement from one corridor to another without the hassle of changing trains.

 Similarly, with an intent to incentivise the use of Public Transport, Delhi-Gurugram-SNB corridor will be seamlessly integrated with other modes of transport in NCR:


RRTS station

Mode of transport with which integration provided

Sarai Kale Khan

Line-7 of DMRC at Sarai Kale Khan, Hazrat Nizamuddin Railway station and ISBT Sarai Kale Khan.

Jor Bagh

Line-2 of DMRC at Jor bagh station


Line-8 of DMRC at Munirka station


Airport, DMRC- At Aerocity- Airport Express Line & proposed Phase-IV Line

Udyog Vihar

Proposed Extension to Gurugram Rapid Metro &

Proposed Metro from Gurugram Railway Station

Kherki Daula

Proposed Bawal metro and Proposed Bus terminus


Proposed Bawal Metro, Proposed ISBT, Proposed Multi-modal hub


Bawal Bus Stand


RRTS trains with design speed of 180kmph, operation speed of 160kmph and average speed of 100kmph will be available at a frequency of every 5-10 minutes. The infrastructure is being designed for up to 9 coaches train. These trains will be air-conditioned with transverse seating and overhead luggage space for commuter comfort. There would be priority seating arrangements for people with special needs, an exclusive coach for women travelers and a business class coach in every train to encourage people to leave their cars for public transport.

This RRTS smart line will pass through the urbanized and industrialized areas of Haryana and connect Delhi airport with the RRTS network, increasing the overall productivity of NCR. The corridor will strengthen the regional transport infrastructure by providing a fast, safe, comfortable and reliable mobility option to the residents of Delhi, Gurugram, Rewari, Manesar, Daruheda, Bawal and nearby areas. The fast commuting connecting Delhi to nearby regions will be immensely beneficial in decongesting Delhi and its roads, providing citizens the choice to live & work in different regional nodes to lead a better quality of life.

Once constructed, the corridor is expected to bring down the travel time between SKK-SNB in less than 70 minutes (106 km). The daily ridership on this corridor is estimated to be 8.5 Lakhs in 2025. This high-speed, high-frequency, high-capacity RRTS corridor will not only offer mass transit benefits but also bring in wide range of economic benefits to the society including effectively curbing pollution, improving safety & reliability of commute and creating employment as well as new economic opportunities. Apart from unlocking economic development potential of the region, such high-speed commute will bring people and places closer enabling polycentric growth in NCR.

 The corridor is planned to be constructed in about 5 years’ time excluding 1 year of pre-construction activities at a base construction cost of INR 24,975 crore, funded by Government of India (20%), concerned State Governments (20%) and bilateral/multilateral funding agencies (60%).

NCRTC is a joint venture of the Government of India (50%) and State Governments of Haryana (12.5%), NCT Delhi (12.5%), Uttar Pradesh (12.5%) and Rajasthan (12.5%). It is mandated to design, construct, finance, operate and maintain RRTS in NCR and works under the administrative control of Ministry of Housing & Urban Affairs, GOI.

 Out of the 8 identified corridors to connect various NCR towns with high-speed rail commute under the Functional Plan on Transport for NCR-2032, three have been prioritized for implementation in Phase-1 by the Planning Commission appointed Task Force, these are Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut, Delhi-Gurugram-Alwar and Delhi-Sonipat-Panipat. This is the 2nd RRTS corridor, which has been approved by NCRTC Board after Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.