Kanpur Metro: TBM Azad Achieves Breakthrough at Nayaganj for Package KNPCC-06

TBM Azad's first breakthrough for Kanpur metro from Kanpur Central to Nayaganj

EVM Azad. Picture credit: Atul Singh Yadav
EVM Azad. Picture credit: Atul Singh Yadav
InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

KANPUR (Metro Rail News): Afcons—Sam India Consortium’s TBM S-640B, nicknamed Azad, achieved its first tunnel breakthrough for Kanpur Metro’s Phase I project at Nayaganj station on March 28 under package KNPCC-06. Afcons—Sam India Consortium was awarded the 4.65-km Package KNPCC-06, connecting Nayaganj Station and Transport Nagar Ramp, by UPMRC on 14.03.2022.

Anubhav Kumar Upadhyay 1 1 edited
Picture credit: Anubhav Kumar Upadhyay

TBM and Breakthrough

TBM Azad (S-640B) is a Herrenknecht Earth Pressure Balance machine commissioned in October 2023 to construct Kanpur Metro’s underground package KNPCC-06. For its first assignment of Kanpur Metro, it built a 1250m long underground tunnel from Kanpur Central Station to Nayaganj Station. Afcon Infrastructure had previously deployed Azad to build Kolkata Metro’s 16.34 km Line-2 in June 2017.

Anubhav Kumar Upadhyay 2
TBM Azad’s head. Picture credit: Anubhav Kumar Upadhyay

TBM Vidyarthi (S-639) was also commissioned in December 2023 as Afcon’s second and Kanpur’s fourth TBM for constructing a parallel down-line tunnel.

A total of 7 breakthroughs for Kanpur Metro’s Phase 1 project have been achieved after Gulermak – Sam India Builtwell JV’s TBM Tatya (S92) finished its sixth and final breakthrough for Line-1’s MacRobertganj Ramp – Nayaganj section for Package KNPCC-05.

The Package

  • Tender Ref. No.: KNPCC-06 [EIB Funded]
  • UPMRC’s Estimate: Rs. 1250 crore
  • Final Contract Value: Rs. 1087.67 crore
  • Awarded date: 14.03.2022
  • Completion Deadline: 36 months

The scope of the contract includes the Design and Construction of the TBM Tunnel, Cut and Cover Tunnel, an underground ramp from Kanpur Central end of Nayaganj station to the elevated ramp after Transport Nagar and three underground metro stations, i.e. Transport Nagar, Jhakarkatti, and Kanpur Central, including Architectural finishes, E & M, TVS, ECS etc. on Corridor-1 of Kanpur MRTS Project.

Dhanumjay vadakoppula 1
Picture credit: Dhanumjay vadakoppula

Kanpur Metro Phase I Line I

The Kanpur Metro Phase I’s Line I is 23.785 km long and spans from IIT Kanpur to Naubasta. It features 15.164 km of elevated and 8.621 km of Underground routes. 

The stations are IIT Kanpur, Kalyanpur Railway Station, SPM Hospital, CSJM Kanpur University, Gurudev Chauraha, Geeta Nagar, Rawatpur Railway Station, Lala Lajpat Rai Hospital, Moti Jheel, Chunniganj, Naveen Market, Bada Chauraha, Nayaganj, Kanpur Central, Jhakarkatti, Transport Nagar, Baradevi, Kidwai Nagar, Vasant Vihar, Baudh Nagar and Naubasta.

Discover the endless possibilities of our city’s Metro at InnoMetro, our flagship Expo and Conference. Be an active participant in shaping its future towards a more sustainable tomorrow. Stay informed and join us to take a step towards a brighter future.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.