Meerut Metro|Divisional Commissioner directs RITES to prepare DPR for Meerut Metro Rail project

InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

Meerut: In a meeting concerning the Meerut Metro rail project, on Wednesday, divisional commissioner Alok Sinha directed Rail India Technical and Economic Services (RIGHTS) officials to prepare a detailed project report (DPR) after taking into account various aspects in a time-bound approach.

He also asked them to study land revenue records where rail depots have been prescribed so that land acquisition process could be started.

Assistant town planner of MDA, Vivek Bhaskar, informed, “There will be two corridors of Metro rail. In the first corridor, it will begin from Partapur to Pallav Puram phase II via Begum Bridge. It will be a distance of 20 km with 20 stoppages. Besides, 11 km will be built on an elevated corridor and another 9 km will be underground. The second corridor will be from Rajbanpur Cantt to Gokulpur via Begumpul, a distance of 10 km with 11 stoppages. The entire second corridor will be elevated one.”

The main stations on the first corridor will be Partapur, Panchwati Enclave, Rithani, Rithani West, Shatabdi Nagar, Devlok, Madhavpuram, Meerut railway station road, Lajpat Bazaar, Begampul, Gandhi Bagh, Lekha Nagar, Pallavpuram Dorli, Ansal City and Pallavpuram phase 2.

“Two depots have been sanctioned in the first corridor, namely, Partapur (20 hectares) and Pallavpuram phase-2 (15 hectares). While an elevated corridor will be constructed from Partapur to Rithani West, underground metro will run from Shatabdi Nagar to Lekha Nagar. The second corridor will have one depot at Gokul village,” said Sinha.

Officials from the departments of irrigation, RIGHTS, Nagar Nigam, PWD, Cantt Board and MDA participated.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.