Mumbai Metro | Kalyan-Thane, Lokhandwala-Kanjurmarg metro lines get approval


Mumbai: It is raining metro lines, at least announcements, in the Mumbai Metropolitan Region. On Wednesday the Mumbai Metropolitan Region Development Authority (MMRDA) in a meeting chaired by chief minister Devendra Fadnavis approved the 24km Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan metro (code-named line 5) at a cost of Rs 8415 crores. The line will have 17 stations.

It must be among the quickest of decisions in the infrastructure sector in the area because just last month, on September 18, during the foundation-laying ceremony of a bridge over river Ulhas near Kalyan, Fadnavis had promised the people of Kalyan-Dombivali a new metro line. “The State Government will definitely bring Metro to Kalyan-Bhiwandi-Dombivli. The DPR is in progress and a decision will soon be taken once technical formalities are completed”, Fadnavis had said during the September 18 ceremony.

Mumbai’s inadequate east-west connectivity also got a boost with the approval on Wednesday of the 14.5-km long Lokhandwala-Jogeshwari-Vikhroli-Kanjurmarg (codenamed line 6) corridor will have 13 stations and cost Rs.6,672 crore.

Fadnavis further launched the logo conceptualized for Mumbai Metro Corridors which he described saying, “The Metro Logo is in two colours – Turquoise Blue and Dark Blue. The Turquoise Blue, according to colour psychology, has a refreshing and calming effect affording a sense of relaxation and represents efficiency and innovation. The Dark Blue spells out responsibility, honesty and strong moral principles. These two clearly describe our commitment while we present various Mumbai Metro Corridors to the city and its metropolitan region”.

Both these decision are expected to give boost to the real estate sector of the areas where the metro lines have been approved though by when these two projects would be completed is anybody’s guess.

The 17 stations on the Thane-Bhiwandi-Kalyan Metro-5 corridor are as under –Kalyan APMC, Kalyan Station, Sahajanand Chowk, Durgadi Fort, Kon Gaon, Gove Gaon MIDC, Rajnouli Village, Temghar, Gopal Nagar, Bhiwandi, Dhamankar Naka, Anjur Phata, Purna, Kalher, Kasheli, Balkumbh Naka, Kapurbawdi.

The 13 stations on the Lokhandwala-Jogeshwari-Vikhroli-Kanjurmarg Metro-6 corridor are as under – Lokhandwala Complex, Adarsh Nagar, Momin Nagar, JVLR, Shyam Nagar, Maha Kali Caves, SEEPZ Village, Saki Vihar Road, Ram Baug, Powai Lake, IIT Powai, Kanjurmarg (W), Vikhroli-EEH.


Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.