No covid constraints for KMRL’s construction

Kochi Metro
Image for representational purpose

KOCHI (Metro Rail News): Kochi Metro Rail Limited has completed the piling works of the viaduct from Petta to SN Junction, the Phase 1 A of Kochi Metro. A total of 259 viaduct piles are completed and piling for the SN Junction Metro Station is also completed.
“Kochi Metro MD Alkesh Kumar Sharma IAS inspected the worksite. He also inspected the ongoing construction work at Panamkutty Bridge. He reviewed the progress and urged the contractor to speed up the work. Top officials of KMRL also accompanied him during the site inspection”, the KMRL said in a statement. 

1604399819738110001 attach 138236926201830450
Mr. Sharma during the visit.

The Phase I (A) Extension of Kochi Metro consists of two Stretches, first from Petta to SN Junction including 2 Stations viz Vadakkekotta and SN Junction & Panamkutty Bridge to be constructed at a cost of Rs.299.87 crores. 
Phase 1(B) extension from Sn Junction to Thripunithura includes one station of Thrippunithura Terminal (Phase IB) with a cost of Rs 162.98 crores. The tender for the stretch from SN Junction to Thrippunithura Terminal was called on May 18, 2020. The tender was opened on July 14, 2020, and successfully awarded to M/s KEC – VNC JV within the shortest period of 20 days. The work commenced on September 25, 2020. KMRL has completed seven Piles in the stretch so far.  
The construction of Panamkutty bridge is also progressing fast. As part of its Preparatory works in line with Phase I Extension from Petta to Thrippunithura, KMRL is constructing an additional two-lane Bridge with a footpath which will make the stretch into Four-lane corridor (two bridges) once completed. The bridge consists of 5 spans. The total length including approach road is 250m in which around 70m is across Poorna River. Approximate Cost of Construction – 17.2 Cr and the expected completion date is December 2020. 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.