Delhi Metro Renames the Aerocity-Tughlaqabad Line to Golden Line

The Aerocity-Tughlaqabad line is 23.60 Km long, with stations at strategic locations like Aerocity, IGNOU, Saket G-Block, etc.

DMRC Golden Line ( Formerly Silver Line)
DMRC Golden Line ( Formerly Silver Line)

NEW DELHI (Metro Rail News): Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) has changed the colour of the Aerocity-Tughlaqabad 23.60 Km long metro corridor to Golden Line, an earlier silver line. 

Change in Effect 

DMRC issued a notification related to the change of colour in November 2023. The line will be facilitated by thirteen 6 Coach Alstom trains. 

DMRC’s Love with Colors 

The entire metro corridor of Delhi has been given a name based on the different colours. Ranging from Blue to Pink & Magenta to Green, the Delhi metro has it all with its Trains, maps and even the stations resonating the same. 

Trouble En-route 

Unknown to the reasons for the colour change, this step may prove terrible as the same Golden Line (formerly called Silver Line) has interchanges with the Yellow Line. There’s not much difference between the two colours other than the glittering. 

Construction Updates 

Sixteen stations of Delhi Metro’s Golden Line are currently under construction at Aerocity, Mahipalpur, Vasant Kunj, Kishangarh, Chhatarpur, Chhattarpur Mandir, IGNOU, Neb Sarai, Saket G-Block, Ambedkar Nagar, Khanpur, Sangam Vihar, Maa Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tughlakabad Railway Colony (Pul Prahaladpur) and Tughlakabad.

Update on Golden Line 

In the latest developments on Delhi Metro’s Golden Line, the UIC-60 turnouts and scissor crossover contract (Package DT-07) were awarded to Voestalpine VAE VKN India in August 2022. However, the track-installation work (Package DT-10) faced a setback when DMRC abruptly cancelled the tender in August 2023, leaving the project’s progress in limbo.

On a positive note, Kalpataru Projects International Ltd. secured the lowest bid for the 25 kV AC OHE traction contract (Package DE-08), marking a significant stride forward in advancing the Silver Line project. 

Golden Line, Delhi Metro 

The Golden Line of the Delhi Metro runs from Delhi Aerocity to Tughlaqabad. It is a 23.62 Km long line with four elevated & 11 underground stations. It has a total of 15 stations as Tughlakabad, Tughlakabad Railway Colony, Anandmayee Marg Junction, Tigri, Khanpur, Ambedkar Nagar, Saket G Block, Saket, Lado Sarai, Mehrauli, Kishangar, Masoodpur, Vasant Kunj (Sec-D), Mahipalpur and Delhi Aerocity. 

Intrigued by the future of Metro and its impact on our city? Join us at our upcoming InnoMetro event to delve deeper into this vital issue. Stay informed, get involved, and let’s ride the Metro towards a brighter, more sustainable future together.

Daily Updates from Metro & Railway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.