Surat Metro | State government approves two metro rail corridors

Nagpur Metro Rail project
Nagpur Metro Rail project
InnoMetro 2024 Delegate Registration

Ahmadabad: The high-powered committee of state government for the metro rail project in Surat, has approved two routes for the project, entailing a total of 40km, in two corridors.

One route is from Sarthana, Varachha to Dream City and the other is from Bhesan Depot to Saroli. These will cost Rs 12,800 crore. Sarthana-Dream City route will have 21 stations whereas Bhesan Depot to Saroli route will have 16 stations.

For the Surat Metro project, the detailed project report (DPR) is being made by Delhi Metro Rail Corporation (DMRC) and work was given to the company in July 2016. The full report will be submitted in February 2017.

While announcing these routes, deputy chief minister Nitin Patel said: “The state government has focussed on setting up basic infrastructural facilities in Surat city and a part of this is to provide the Surat Metro rail services.”

Punamchand Parmar, addition chief secretary of the urban housing department; Milind Torwane, urban development and urban housing secretary; Surat Municipal Commissioner M Thennnarasan and officers from DMRC among others, were at the high-powered committee meeting.

The project includes a 7km underground stretch, with the remaining 33km elevated.

The route from Chara to Dream City will cover Varachha and the Old City whereas the route from Bhesan to Saroli will cover Palanpur and areas on the other side of the river. The Chara to Dream City route will be about 22km and other will be 18km.
“We expect these routes to be complete by 2021-22 and expect passenger volume of about 3 lakh people from the day it opens, fter looking at the present situation,” said M Thennnarasan, municipal commissioner.
buy amoxicillin online no prescription
Sources also said that after the DPR is complete by February 2017, it will go to the Union cabinet for approval which should be given latest by April 2017, following which work could begin.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.